X Games 2014 – Billy Morgan Unlucky Not To Qualify In Men’s Slopestyle


The X Games men’s slopestyle qualifiers happened last night, and boy did they go off! Both Billy Morgan and Mark McMorris threw triples on their last hits which for a qualifying event is insane!

Unfortunately Billy didn’t make it through to the finals on Saturday, reverting out of his triple and ending up one place below the eight places for the final, losing his place to the very last run of the day; but considering it was the one mistake in a run that was otherwise bolts he might have cause to be more than a bit miffed at the judges.

Unlucky as the result may be, this shows his great current form and stands him in good stead for next month’s Olympics

You can see his run in the (admittedly poor quality) video above; tell us how you think he should have done compared to the others in the field. Watch carefully as our editor Ed reckons that his last hit was one of the slowest triples he’s ever seen, with Billy even having to open out at the end to slow his spin down.

Billy Morgan’s Facebook status last night, he may be gutted but we’re still behind him.

Unlucky as the result may be, this shows his great current form and stands him in good stead for next month’s Olympics, good job Billy!

Torstein Horgmo took the top spot with a pretty clinical run, managing to spin all four ways cleany, but with crazy jump sections from both McMorris and Stale Sandbech, who came in second and third respectively; the finals on Saturday should be a show to watch.

You can watch the top three runs below, again we have to stress this was only the qualifiers!

Torstein Horgmo – 1st

Mark McMorris – 2nd

Stale Sandbech – 3rd

Of note were Halldor Helgason and Sage Kotsenburg’s runs, injecting some fun into the proceedings; you can read more about it here.

X Games 2014 Men’s Slopestyle Qualifying Results

(Top eight go through)

  1. Torstein Horgmo
  2. Mark McMorris
  3. Stale Sandbech
  4. Chas Guldemond
  5. Max Parrot
  6. Emil Ulsletten
  7. Seb Toots
  8. Alek Oestreng
  9. Billy Morgan
  10. Seppe Smits
  11. Brandon Davis
  12. Sven Thorgren
  13. Gjermund Braaten
  14. Halldor Helgason
  15. Sage Kotsenburg
  16. Ulrik Badertscher


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.