World Snowboarding Championships – Quarterpipe Riders Announced

Terje Haakonsen sets the current record for the world's highest air (9.8m) at the Arctic Challenge in 2007 / Photo: Frode Sandbech

With the inaugural World Snowboarding Championships about to get underway in Oslo, the organisers have just announced the rider list for the showpiece quarterpipe event. So here it is:

Risto Mattila FIN
Broc Waring USA
Matt Ladley USA
Kim Rune Hansen NOR
Shayne Pospisil USA
Benji Farrow USA
Arthur Longo FRA
Olivier Gittler FRA
Jack Mitrani USA
Brennen Swanson USA
Manuel Pietropoli ITA
Terje Haakonsen NOR
Daisuke Murakami JPN
Ruiki Masuda JPN

Obviously the biggest news here is that Terje Haakonsen is stepping out of competitive retirement to compete in the event he has masterminded. Friday’s event will see an overall quarterpipe contest followed by a highest air comp, during which Tezza will be hoping to top the 9.8 metre world record he set at the Arctic Challenge five years ago.

Designed as an alternative, rider-led event to the Olympics and X Games, it seems as though these first TTR-backed World Snowboarding Champs have flown under the radar a little so far. Come this weekend though that will certainly change, as nearly 200 riders from 24 nations arrive in Norway to compete across an epic-looking slopestyle course, halfpipe and quarterpipe. And should anyone hit the fabled 10 metre mark on Friday night, you can be sure the hype will go into overdrive.

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.