Arctic Roses | VANS Snowboarding

A short snow and surf film featuring Vans’ Arthur Longo, Bryan Iguchi, Wolle Nyvelt, Enni Rukajärvi and more

Vans Snowboarding is out with another amazing project, Arctic Roses, a short film by Alex Tank and Willem Jones, featuring team riders Alek Oestreng, Arthur Longo, Bryan Iguchi, Enni Rukajärvi, Rene Rinnekangas, Severin van der Meer and Wolle Nyvelt.

“There are not too many places on this planet that could provide good snowboard terrain and surf, but the Norwegian coastline is one of them”

There are not too many places on this planet that could provide good snowboard terrain and surf, but the Norwegian coastline is one of them. The Arctic truly sounded like the last frontier, so the team made two epic trips for an expedition on and off the land, merging the worlds of snowboarding and surfing.

Arthur Longo, Norway. Photo: Matt Georges.

While searching for ‘Arctic Roses’, a metaphor for the quest the crew went on for good snow and good waves, the idea was to reinforce the connection we have with the elements – either on the mountains or in the ocean – with a combination of splitboarding and cold water surfing.

The landscapes that the mighty Norwegian coastline provided were of epic proportions. It’s a place where the mountains literally drop into the sea so it was the perfect location to showcase how intertwined snowboarding and surfing are and the versatility of the Vans team riders. The team started off their adventure in the Lofoten islands, moved on to the Lyngen Alpes and ended the trip in Riksgrensen during their annual bank slalom – getting to ride the quarterpipe under the midnight sun to wrap up the full Arctic experience was the icing on the cake.

Enni Rukajarvi, Norway. Photo: Matt Georges.

Starring: Arthur Longo, Bryan Iguchi, Enni Rukajarvi, Severin Van Der Meer, Alek Oestreng, Wolle Nyvelt, Rene Rinnekangas and more

Directed by: Alex Tank

Filmed by: Willem Jones

Photography: Matt Georges

Music Credits: Stossgebet by Karl Hector & Malcouns Can’t Surf by Beach Party Creations Beginning by Rocket Robert Starfish by Matteus Unebeck (Voyage Beneath The Sea) Interstellar Shortwave by The Astral Army (Cologne Curiosities) Winterland by Shiho Yabucki (The Body Is A Message Of The Universe)

Sevi van der Meer. Photo: Matt Georges.
Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.