The competitors threw down some steezy tricks in the slopestyle event last week

So whilst the Olympic competitors are battling it out in Sochi, we have our NEXT set of potential future Olympians competing right here on home ground.

Our future athletes from universities across the country are competing in BUSC's annual event, the British University Indoor Snowsports Championships (or BUISC as it is referred to for obvious reasons).

The northern finals kicked off last week with a big event held at Xscape in Castleford and we saw a massive number of competitors from northern universities pushing it to make the finals, which will be held on 12th March in Castleford.

The competition consisted of two heats and a final in both slalom and slopestyle, with the top 8 men and top 3 women making the national finals in each event.

The racing kicked off in the early morning with Edward Castle-Henry from Cumbria taking to top spot for the men and Sophie Miles from Manchester taking the gold for the women in the board slalom events.

The slopestyle then dropped in the evening with some competitors getting big air off the kicker. However, at the beginning of the competition, judges warned they would prefer to see "a stylish 180 than a shit back flip" from the competitors.

The competitors were warned judges would prefer 'a stylish 180' than a dodgy backflip...

Some riders took the advice, while others threw some interesting shapes off the kicker. And it was Edward Castle-Henry of Cumbria who qualified first yet again, whilst Daisy Maddinson from Leeds University grabbed first place for the ladies. Both will now be dropping in on the course again in March.

Below is the list of competitors from the north you can expect to see in the finals:

Men's race

Edward Castle-Henry - Cumbria University

Tim Kay - Leeds Met University

Oliver Parker - Manchester Met University

Oliver Ross - Leeds University

James Thomas - Manchester University

Women's race

Sophie Miles - Manchester University

Nicola Stehling - York University

Ania Krajinska - York University

Men's slopestyle

Edward Castle-Henry - Cumbria University

Alessandro Rebecchi - Manchester University

Arian Sattarin - Manchester Met University

Billy Maddinson - Leeds University

Adam Roy - Sheffield Hallam University

Oliver Clark - Leeds

Marc Marine - Leeds Met University

Women's slopestyle

Daisy Maddinson - Leeds University

Alex Price - Leeds Met University

Katy Witts - Leeds University