Toutant beat a field of superstars over the 800 metre-long slopestyle course to take his $6,000 first prize and the first title of the 2009/10 TTR World Tour. Despite the best efforts of the other competitors, who included Danny Kass, Torstein Horgmo, Mason Aguirre and Chas Guldemond, no-one could knock Sebastien off the top spot he had claimed after qualifying first in the semi-finals.

Rider: Jonaven Morre  /  Photographer: Jeff Patterson  /  Location: Revelstoke, Canada

His final-winning run included a 270 onto the first rail, going into a backside rodeo 540 and a massive cab 900 stalefish. He finished the kicker line with his signature “Toutsie Roll" - a backside 1080 double cork melon – then threw in a front board and alley-oop on the quarter-pipe just to round things off nicely.

Toutant said: “It was a great course, very different. I had fun trying new things. I’m so stoked to win my first contest of the year." After a run like that, we can see why!

Torstein claimed second with back-to-back 1080s, while the USA’s Eric Willet claimed the final spot on the podium.

In the women’s event, Jamie Anderson impressed the judges by throwing down a run which included a switch backside 360 on the first kicker, followed by a Cab 540 melon and an über stylish front 360 melon on the final hit.

Anderson was joined on the podium by her compatriot Janna Weatherby, while local girl Shelly Gotlieb claimed third, stoking the crowd of kiwi spectators. Anderson said: “It was a beautiful day, we lucked out with the weather, and I was happy with my riding, I had so much fun today." Here’s hoping that tomorrow’s halfpipe finals are blessed by the same weather.

Burton New Zealand Open Results

Slopestyle Final Women

1 Jamie Anderson USA Billabong

2 Janna Weatherby USA Volcom

3 Shelly Gotlieb NZL Burton

4 Joanna Dzierzawski USA 686

5 Silvia Mittermueller GER Oakley

6 Hana Beaman USA Vans

Slopestyle Final Men

1 Sebastien Toutant CAN O'Neill

2 Torstein Horgmo NOR DC

3 Eric Willett USA OMatic

4 Tore Holvik NOR Sweet

5 Seppe Smits BEL Burton

6 Stef Zeestraten NZL Oakley